Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen (The Cathay)

*There is a Groupon voucher for Popeyes now! $3.30 for 2 pieces of Bonafide Chicken. Usual price is $5.50. I just bought it. Have you? (No I am not pay to advertise, just that this is a good lobang to try the chicken)*

I first ate Popeyes in Korea in 2007. I remember that its burger and biscuit (as they were delicious!)

Now is the chance to try Popeyes in Singapore. Went to the one at The Cathay. Somehow I was so used to the menu with Korean words that I do not remember or know what to order. Even the pictures look unfamiliar. In the end, I decided to go for the Two Piece Chicken Combo which consist of  two pieces of chicken, one drink, one side and one biscuit. This would have cost $7.40. But as I changed my drink to Ice Lemon Tea, I had to top up 30cents to $7.70.

Two Piece Chicken Combo $7.70

For the chicken, you have a choice of going for the mild or spicy. I chose the mild one and regretted, should have chosen spicy!

The fried chicken at Popeyes seems to be more crispy than that of KFC. In addition, the batter was thinly. However, I felt that there was not enough fragrant and flavour which could be partly due to my order for mild chicken. Inside, the chicken meat was super tender and juicy! It was not tough, each strand of meat can be teared out easily by hand. I would definitely say Popeyes’ fried chicken seems to be so much better than KFC.

Jam for the biscuit

The biscuit? It was so-so .. average. Nothing fantastic. I remembered the one in Korea was much better, more buttery and fragrant.

Mashed Potato

I am  crazy fan of potato. But the Mashed Potato at Popeyes does not agree with my taste bud. Totally dislike it, should have ordered Cajun Fries instead. Well food is subjective and based on personal preference. Many people have claimed that Popeye’s Mash Potato is superior compared to KFC. For me I would prefer KFC’s version. So it is best to try it yourself and see which is you cup of tea.

Today, Popeyes has 10 outlets in Singapore and is Halal certified. Their outlets are at
• Ang Mo Kio Jubilee Entertainment Centre
• Bedok Point
• Century Square
• Downtown East
• Orchard Xchange
• Punggol East
• Singapore Changi Airport Terminal 3
• Singapore Flyer
• Square 2
• The Cathay

Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen (The Cathay)
2 Handy Road
#B1-21, The Cathay
Tel: 6735 3586
Website: http://www.popeyes.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/PopeyesSGP

Leave a comment